Go Utes!
Go Utes!
Go Utes!
Crimson Club Announces 2014 Hall of Fame Class

April 15, 2014

SALT LAKE CITY - The University of Utah will enshrine five former Ute athletes, one former coach and one team into the Crimson Club Athletics Fund Hall of Fame on Friday, Sept. 5 at Rice-Eccles Stadium & Tower. Honored at the 2014 Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be Kevin Dyson (football), Elaine Elliott (women's basketball coach), Amy Kofoed (soccer), Andre Miller (men's basketball), Kim Turner (volleyball), Sandy Woolsey (gymnastics) and the 1964 Liberty Bowl team.

Kevin Dyson
A two-time first-team all-WAC selection, wide receiver Kevin Dyson is Utah's all-time leader in receptions (192) and is second in receiving yards (2,726). Dyson was a first round NFL Draft pick in 1998, taken No. 16 overall. He played for the Tennessee Titans in the 2000 Super Bowl. Dyson graduated from Clearfield (Utah) High School.

Elaine Elliott
In 27 seasons, Elaine Elliott guided the Utah women's basketball program to a 582-234 (.713) record, 14 conference championships and 15 NCAA Tournaments before retiring in 2010. She led Utah to the NCAA Sweet 16 in 2001 and the Elite Eight in `06. Seventeen of her players earned All-America honors and four were drafted by the WNBA.

Amy Kofoed
Three-time first-team all-Mountain West Conference pick Amy Kofoed is Utah soccer's all-time leader in goals (46) and points (108). Kofoed was named to the SoccerBuzz all-region second-team 2000-01. The Layton, Utah, native helped the Utes win a share of the Mountain West championship--the first in school history--in 1999.

Andre Miller
A consensus All-American and the Basketball Times National Player of the Year in 1998-99, point guard Andre Miller is Utah's all-time leader in steals (254) and ranks second in assists (721). He is also 11th in career scoring (1,618 points). Miller led the Runnin' Utes to four NCAA tournaments, including the 1998 title game, and four WAC championships. He was the No. 8 overall pick in the 1999 NBA Draft and has played in the league the past 15 years.

Kim Turner
Utah volleyball's first-ever AVCA All-American by earning third-team honors in 2003, Kim Turner was also a two-time Mountain West Conference Co-Player of the Year. The middle blocker graduated as Utah's all-time leader in kills (1,620) and total blocks (670). She led the Utes to four NCAA Tournaments, including the school's first trip to the Sweet 16 in 2001.

Sandy Woolsey
A five-time All-American and the 1994 NCAA individual champion on the uneven bars, Sandy Woolsey helped lead the Ute gymnasts to NCAA team championships in 1994 and '95. Woolsey earned All-America honors three times on bars, once on beam and once in the all-around. She scored a perfect 10.0 twice on bars and once on beam.

1964 Liberty Bowl Team
Utah defeated West Virginia, 32-6, in the 1964 Liberty Bowl played on Dec. 19 at the Atlantic City Convention Hall. It was the first major college football game ever played indoors. Under head coach Ray Nagel, the Utes were a tri-champion in the Western Athletic Conference and finished with a 9-2 record, which stood as the school record for wins for 30 years. Quarterback Pokey Allen was the team captain and cornerback/kicker Roy Jefferson earned All-America honors.

Utah.edu Pac-12 Utah Utah Sports Properties