Go Utes!
Go Utes!
Twelve Utah Skiers Earn All-RMISA Honors

Senior Maria Graefnings earned her third career All-RMISA First Team selection.

Senior Maria Graefnings earned her third career All-RMISA First Team selection.

March 5, 2012

SALT LAKE CITY - Twelve student-athletes from the University of Utah ski team received All-Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association recognition, it was announced on Monday. Eight Utes were named to the first teams, while four were selected to the second teams.

"Twelve athletes earning All-RMISA honors is a tremendous accomplishment," Utah Director of Skiing Kevin Sweeney said. "It demonstrates our quality and depth as a team. In the preseason, I mentioned to the team how important it is to have a balanced squad that consistently scores in the top 10. It is impressive how well we are following through here, and I especially want to thank the Ute MVPs for their consistency, leadership and motivating performances."

Three Utes were on the women's Alpine first team. After capturing the slalom title on Friday at the NCAA West Region/RMISA Championships, senior Tii-Maria Romar was named the RMISA's Women's Alpine MVP for the 2012 season and a first-team selection. Romar had three wins and was equally impressive in both disciplines as she won one slalom and two GS races. She also earned two second places, one third place and four fourth-place finishes in those 10 races. Romar appeared on the podium a total of six times season.

Sophomore Julie Bordeau took third in Friday's slalom race at the regional meet. This was the Mrozine, France native's third straight podium effort and the seventh of her career.

Junior Anna Kocken had a huge weekend at the regional, as she earned her first victory of the season in the giant slalom on Saturday after taking second in the slalom on Friday. She finished on the podium five times this year and seven times over her career.



Sophomore Jaime Dupratt earned a second-team nod. She won her first career race, the slalom on Feb. 10 at the Alaska Anchorage Invitational.

Women's Alpine
First Team -
Sterling Grant, Denver; Tii-Maria Romar, Utah; Julie Bordeau, Utah; Shane McLean, Colorado; Anna Kocken, Utah
Second Team -
Erika Ghent, Colorado; Stefanie Demetz, New Mexico; Katie Hartman, Colorado; Jaime Dupratt, Utah; Carolina Nordh, Colorado

Senior Nick Cohee headlined the men's Alpine group with a first-team selection. The Gardnerville, Nev., native won three GS races this season and has been on the podium five times in 2012.

Senior Torjus Krogdahl and junior Ryan Wilson took second-team honors.

Krogdahl finished on the podium two times, including third-place effort in the slalom races at the UAA Invite on Feb. 10 and the GS at the regional last Saturday.

Wilson won the slalom on Friday at the regional meet, his first victory of the season. He has three career victories over his career and has placed on the podium five times.

Men's Alpine
First Team -
Trevor Philp, Denver; Nick Cohee, Utah; Espen Lysdahl, Denver; Adam Zika, Colorado; Armin Trindl, New Mexico
Second Team - Torjus Krogdahl, Utah; Max Lamb, Colorado; Ryan Wilson, Utah; Chris Acosta, New Mexico; Andreas Haug, Colorado

The Utes had two first-team selections in the men's Nordic portion. Junior Miles Havlick was named the Men's Nordic MVP and earned first-team honors for the second straight year. Havlick won the 10km freestyle race at the Alaska Anchorage Invitational on Feb. 6, then took second in three races and third four other times. Senior Didrik Smith earned his second consecutive first-team All-RMISA as well after taking a podium finish four times, including a victory in the 10km freestyle at the Colorado Invitational on Jan. 13.

Tom Smith earned second-team recognition for the first time in his career. Smith posted five top-10 efforts this season, including fifth-place finishes in the 10km free at the CU Invite on Jan. 13 and at the UAA Invite on Feb. 6.

Men's Nordic
First Team -
Rune Oedegaard, Colorado; David Norris, Montana State; Miles Havlick, Utah; Didrik Smith, Utah; Tyler Reinking, Montana State
Second Team - Andrew Dougherty, Denver; Vegard Kjoelhamar, Colorado; Reid Pletcher, Colorado; Andreas Hoye, Colorado; Tom Smith, Utah

Two Utah skiers were on the first-team for women's Nordic, including senior Maria Graefnings and senior Rose Kemp.

Graefnings won both the 5km freestyle and the 15km classic races at the regional last weekend for her third straight first-team selection. Despite missing the first four races of the season, she won three races and placed on the podium five times.

Kemp earned first-team All-RMISA honors for the first time in her career after finishing third in both races at the Alaska-Anchorage Invitational.

Women's Nordic
First Team -
Eliska Hajkova, Colorado; Maria Graefnings, Utah; Jaime Bronga, Alaska Anchorage; Joanne Reid, Colorado; Linn Klaesson, New Mexico; Kate Dolan, Denver; Rose Kemp, Utah
Second Team - Laura Rombach, Alaska Anchorage; Ase Carlson, Montana State; Steffi Hiemer, Alaska Anchorage

"I am running out of words to describe the accomplishments of this team, and with each passing weekend I have a growing appreciation for what a special team we have this year," Utah Head Nordic coach Abi Holt said. "Miles, Didrik, Tom, Maria and Rose are each the epitome of the NCAA ideals. They are dedicated and successful student-athletes, great teammates and amazing people. They have worked hard for this honor and I am pleased to see them receive this recognition."

The NCAA Championships will be held Mar. 7-10 in Bozeman, Mont. Check out utahutes.com for all the details.

Utah.edu Pac-12 Utah Utah Sports Properties