Go Utes!
Go Utes!
Utes Begin 2011-12 Season at Intermountain Shootout

Utah will begin its 2011-12 season this weekend at the Intermountain Shootout

Utah will begin its 2011-12 season this weekend at the Intermountain Shootout

Oct. 7, 2011


Weekly Release Get Acrobat Reader

University of Utah swimming and diving begins its 2011-12 season at the Colorado Mesa University's Intermountain Shootout in Grand Junction Colo. The meet will be held at the El Pomar Natatorium beginning Friday at 6:30 p.m. and will continue on Saturday at 10 a.m. For live video coverage go to http://www.b2tv.com/partner_members.asp?id=250&s=5488&sid=39 The event will pit the Utes against Air Force (M), Northern Colorado (W), Colorado State (W) and Colorado Mesa.

"We are excited. It will be good to see some familiar competition as we enter a new Pac-12 era," Utah head coach Greg Winslow said. "It's our first meet this season so we are just looking for good mentality from our kids, how serious they take racing. It will be good to have both teams together."

Last Time at the Intermountain Shootout

Last Season at this meet, the Ute men won seven events, broke six pool records and came out with a 2-1 record beating out Mesa State (302-68) and Adams State (300-27), but falling short to Air Force (223-148). Bjorn Gunnarsson, Garret Beaman, Andy Lamb and Brent Murray took first place and broke pool recorda in both the 200 free relay and the 400 free relay. Nelson Foo placed first over all in diving with Brandon Stoppelmoor coming in second.

Utah also received first-place finishes from Major Robinson in the 100 back, Garrett Peterson in the 200 breast, Brent Murray in the 100 free and Karson Applin in the 100 fly.

The 2011-12 Utes

Ute returners this season include NCAA Championship participant in the 100 and 200 fly Hannah Caron and school-record holders Austin Fiascone, Applin, Gunnarsson, Foo, Traycie Swartz and Samantha Zuch.

Also returning are 10 2011 all-Mountain West Conference team members: Robinson, Applin, Gunnarsson, Austin Fiascone, Eric Murray, Caron, Swartz, Zuch and divers Foo and Ellis Walters.

Thirteen new members will join the Utah squad this season, including Brandton Ferrin, Graham Charlton, Winter Heaven, Nick Soedel, John Tilghman, Ken Titges, Seth Wynn, Maddie Jamora, Alexandra Jamora, Jasmine Matkovic, Valerie McMullan, Lindsay McSweeney, Kersten Merry and LeighAnne Oliver.

Matkovic is a diver who hails from Wellington Point, Austraila and is expected to be a stand out performer on what is expected to be the expected strongest women's diving squad in school history. Oliver, all Southern Arizona All-Star from Tucson, Ariz., will assist the Utes in breast and freestyle distance events while Maddie Jamora, a Hawaii state champion, will compete in the freestyle and backstroke diciplines.

The new members of Utah's men's squad are lead by Soedel and Heaven. Soedel, an All-American from Orange County, and Heaven, holder of seven Alaska state records, are expected to be strong competitors in sprinting events.

Scouting the Opposition

The Air Force men's team lost standout swimmer and MWC 200 fly champion Benjamin Gunn to graduation, but it return three of five all-MWC swimmers including Corydon Bultler, Paul Leonhardt and Tim Marinelli.

The Colorado State women's team is coming off its lowest conference placing ever after finishing seventh. Despite that, four-time MWC champion Breann Fuller will return for the Rams to compete in the backstroke events. Fuller, along with Jennifer Lamb, Shayna Soloman and Maxelise Thorn, earned 2010-11 all-MWC honors and will compete for Colorado State in 2011-12.

The Northern Colorado women's squad recorded its first-ever Big Sky Conference Championship win by Kelly Schmeckpeper-Cook in the 1-meter and 3-meter dive in 2011. The Aquabears will return one all-conference first-team member, Sara Moldenhaur, and two second-team members, Tori Gutt and Courtney VanOost.

In its best season to date, two Colorado Mesa University athletes, Jaclyn McMillen and Brock Martin earned All-American honors in 2010-11. Beginning their program's seventh year, the Maverick program has grown to include 35 members.



Utah.edu Pac-12 Utah Utah Sports Properties