Go Utes!
Go Utes!
Keith Van Horn Selected to Pac-12 Hall of Honor

Keith Van Horn

Keith Van Horn

Jan. 31, 2013

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Former Utah men’s basketball star Keith Van Horn has been elected to the 2013 Pac-12 Hall of Honor. He will be the second Runnin’ Ute inductee, joining last year’s selection, Arnie Ferrin. 

Van Horn is one of the most decorated players in Utah men’s basketball history, leaving Salt Lake City as the Utes’ all-time leading scorer and second-leading rebounder. He scored 2,542 points and collected 1,074 rebounds from 1994-97 while leading Utah to 98 wins and three NCAA Tournament appearances, including trips to the Sweet 16 (1996) and the Elite Eight (1997).

He was a two-time All-American and runner-up for the Wooden, Naismith and RCA National Player of the Year awards in 1997. He was also the first player in Western Athletic Conference history to be named the conference player of the year three times (1995-97) and was one of just two four-time first team all-conference selections in WAC annals.

In 1997, Van Horn led the Utes to a 29–4 finish and No. 2 national ranking, the highest in school history. His No. 44 basketball jersey was retired by Utah in 1998. Ten years later, he was among 16 players named to Utah's "All-Century" basketball team.

Van Horn was selected by the Philadelphia 76ers with the second pick in the 1997 NBA Draft. He enjoyed a nine-year NBA career with the New Jersey Nets, 76ers, New York Knicks, Milwaukee Bucks and Dallas Mavericks, posting career averages of 16.0 points and 6.8 rebounds per game. He played in two NBA Finals, with New Jersey in 2002 and Dallas in 2006.

The induction will occur on Saturday, March 16, during a ceremony prior to the Pac-12 Championship Game at the 2013 Men’s Basketball Tournament held at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Nev.

This year’s group consists of 11 former student-athletes and one former coach; Jason Gardner (Arizona), Dennis Hamilton (Arizona State), Shareef Abdur-Rahim (California), Cliff Meely (Colorado), Chuck Rask (Oregon), Charlie Sitton (Oregon State), Ron Tomsic (Stanford), Lucius Allen (UCLA), Forrest Twogood (USC), Keith Van Horn (Utah), Nate Robinson (Washington) and James McKean (Washington State).



Utah.edu Pac-12 Utah Utah Sports Properties