Go Utes!
Go Utes!
2014 Utah Football Scouting Report: Running Backs

Devontae Booker starred in his spring debut and will challenge for the starting job.

Devontae Booker starred in his spring debut and will challenge for the starting job.

June 12, 2014

SALT LAKE CITY - With the @Utah_Football season approaching, utahutes.com will break down the personnel on the Ute roster with the lowdown, headliners and newcomer spotlight for 10 position groups. Today's post previews the running backs.

2014 utahutes.com @Utah_Football Scouting Report

Tuesday, June 10: Offensive Line
Wednesday, June 11: Quarterbacks
Thursday, June 12: Running Backs
Friday, June 13: Wide Receivers
Saturday, June 14: Tight Ends
Monday, June 16: Defensive Line
Tuesday, June 17: Linebackers
Wednesday, June 18: Cornerbacks
Thursday, June 19: Safeties
Friday, June 20: Kicking Game

RUNNING BACKS

The Lowdown
Running backs coach Dennis Erickson has several options in the run game with the variety of running styles available.

Headliners Returning
Bubba Poole led the Utes in rushing as a sophomore last year, carrying the ball 149 times for 607 yards (4.1 average). Redshirt freshman Troy McCormick is ready to show off his 4.38 40 speed in a game after dazzling on the scout teams last year.

Newcomer Spotlight
Junior college transfer Devontae Booker will be hard to keep out of the starting lineup if he continues to shred defenses the way he did in spring camp.

 

 

Coach Whittingham Says
"The running back position was solid throughout spring. Bubba Poole, Devontae Booker and Troy McCormick were all productive and appear ready to play."

The Personnel

Devontae Booker
Andrew Fletcher
Troy McCormick
Bubba Poole
Tavaris Williams
Dre'Vian Young

Utah.edu Pac-12 Utah Utah Sports Properties