Go Utes!
Go Utes!
Johnson Named as Finalist for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award

Brian Johnson has a 23-7 record as Utah's starting quarterback.

Brian Johnson has a 23-7 record as Utah's starting quarterback.

Nov. 10, 2008

BALTIMORE, MD - University of Utah senior quarterback Brian Johnson has been named as one of five finalists for the 2008 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. The field was narrowed from an original field of 26 finalists.

Named after the man many refer to as the greatest quarterback ever to play the game of football, the prestigious Golden Arm Award is presented annually to the nation's top senior college quarterback by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. and Transamerica.

The five candidates for the 2008 Golden Arm Award are:

Brian Johnson (Utah) is in his third year as Utah's starting QB. Offensive MVP of the 2007 San Diego Poinsettia Bowl, Johnson is a three-time Academic All-MWC selection. An extremely efficient passer with a strong arm and outstanding leadership qualities, Johnson had a 66.5% completion rate in 2007, third best ever in a season by a Ute.

• Chase Daniel (Missouri) owns the best career QB rating in MU history. Daniel entered the 2008 season needing just 620 yards to become MU's career passing yardage leader. While Daniel does the majority of his damage in the air, he is also able to beat defenses with his feet, rushing for more than 700 yards.

• Graham Harrell (Texas Tech) entered the 2008 season having won the 2007 Sammy Baugh Trophy, which recognizes the nation's top college passer. Listed by CBS Sports as a 2008 Heisman candidate, Harrell was selected as an AT&T ESPN All-American following the inaugural game of the 2008 season.

• John Parker Wilson (Alabama), a two-year starter at QB, has become one of the most prolific passers in `Bama history. Wilson has shown an ability to shine in late-game situations. He has 16 career 200-yard passing games, setting the all-time career mark at UA. He is also among `Bama's career leaders in pass attempts, completions, passing yardage, TD passes, and all-purpose yards.



• Pat White (West Virginia) is a three-year starter and one of the nation's most versatile threats at QB. White is the Big East and West Virginia career QB rushing leader, with more than 3,500 yards. In 2007, he was West Virginia's top runner with 1,355 yards, while throwing for 1,724 yards and 14 touchdowns.

The 2008 winner will be presented with the Golden Arm Award on Friday, December 5 at the Tremont Grand Meeting & Banquet Facility in downtown Baltimore.

Last year's winner of the Golden Arm Award was Boston College quarterback Matt Ryan, who is now with the Atlanta Falcons. Other past winners include current NFL players Brady Quinn (Notre Dame, 2006), Matt Leinart (USC, 2005), Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003), Carson Palmer (USC, 2002), David Carr (Fresno State, 2001), and Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997).

As part of a partnership with CN8, The Comcast Network, John Unitas, Jr. will announce the winner of the 2008 Golden Arm Award live on CN8's "Out of Bounds" sports show on Monday, December 2. "Out of Bounds" will broadcast the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award presentation as a live, one-hour special on Friday, December 5.

For more information, visit www.goldenarmaward.com or www.goldenarmfoundation.com.

Utah.edu Pac-12 Utah Utah Sports Properties