Go Utes!
Go Utes!
Schlauderaff, Taylor, Phillips, Cox Named First-Team All-MWC

Christian Cox led the Ute defensive line with 50 tackles, including four sacks.

Christian Cox led the Ute defensive line with 50 tackles, including four sacks.

Nov. 30, 2010

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo.--Fourteen Utah football players earned 2010 all-Mountain West Conference recognition with nine making the first and second teams. The all-conference team was voted on by the nine league coaches and a media panel.

Four Ute seniors making their first appearance on the all-MWC first team were offensive guard Caleb Schlauderaff, offensive center Zane Taylor, placekicker Joe Phillips and defensive end Christian Cox. Schlauderaff and Taylor, both preseason all-conference picks, made the second team as juniors last year, while Phillips was honorable mention.

Cox's award extended Utah's string of seasons with a first-team all-MWC defensive lineman to 10 in a row. The Utes have placed a defensive lineman on the first team 11 times in the 12-year history of the MWC.

Utah's five second-team selections--all first-time MWC honorees--are senior wide receiver Jereme Brooks, junior offensive tackle Tony Bergstrom, senior returner Shaky Smithson, junior linebacker Chaz Walker and junior cornerback Brandon Burton.

Making the honorable mention team were freshman safety Brian Blechen, senior cornerback Lamar Chapman, sophomore receiver DeVonte Christopher, junior linebacker Matt Martinez and junior defensive tackle Sealver Siliga. Siliga also earned honorable mention all-conference honors in 2009.



Joe Phillips went 12-of-14 in field goals, including 55 extra points.

Zane Taylor was a second-team all-conference pick last season.

Caleb Schlauderaff was also a Midseason All-American.

Utah.edu Pac-12 Utah Utah Sports Properties