Go Utes!
Go Utes!
Smith Named MWC Player of Year for Fourth Time

Kim Smith was named MWC Player of the Year for the fourth consecutive year Monday.

Kim Smith was named MWC Player of the Year for the fourth consecutive year Monday.

March 6, 2006

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- University of Utah senior Kim Smith (Mission, B.C.) has been named Co-Mountain West Conference Player of the Year. This marks the fourth time that Smith has earned the conference's player of the year award.

Smith was also a unanimous first team all-Mountain West Conference selection. Joining Smith on the all-MWC first team is Utah senior Shona Thorburn. This is Thorburn's second consecutive first team all-MWC selection. Smith has been a first-team all-MWC choice for four straight seasons.

The following is a look at the MWC's postseason awards for 2005-06:

First Team All-Mountain West Conference
^Ambrosia Anderson, BYU, Sr., 6-2, F
^**Kim Smith, Utah, Sr., 6-1, F
Dionne Marsh, New Mexico, So., 6-1, F
*Shona Thorburn, Utah, Sr., 5-11, G
*Sherry McCracklin, UNLV, Sr., 6-2, F
Hanna Zavecz, Wyoming, So., 6-0, F

Second Team All-Mountain West Conference
Natasha Lacy, TCU, Jr., 5-10, G
Katie Montgomery, New Mexico, Jr., 5-10, G
Dani Kubik, BYU, Jr., 6-3, C
Sheena Moore, UNLV, Sr., 5-7, G

Third Team All-Mountain West Conference
Adrianne Ross, TCU, So., 5-8, G
Abbie Letz, New Mexico, Sr., 6-1, G
Melissa Dennett, Colorado State, Sr., 6-2, F
Alecia Steele, Air Force, So., 6-0, F
Jodi Bolerjack, Wyoming, So., 5-9, G

Honorable Mention All-Mountain West Conference
Mallary Gillespie, BYU, So., 5-10, G
Erin Hicks, Wyoming, Sr., 5-9, G
Michelle Strawberry, San Diego State, Sr., 5-10, F
Ashley Davis, TCU, Jr., 6-0, F
Lorie Butler-Rayford, TCU, So., 5-11, F
Melinda Johnsen, BYU, Jr., 5-10, G
Jennie Keele, BYU, Jr., 5-10, G

Co-Players of the Year
Ambrosia Anderson, BYU
Kim Smith, Utah

Newcomer of the Year
Megan McGuffey, Wyoming

Defensive Player of the Year
Hanna Zavecz, Wyoming

Coach of the Year
Jeff Judkins, BYU

^--Unanimous Selection
*--Two Time First-Team Selection
**--Four Time First Team Selection



Utah.edu Pac-12 Utah Utah Sports Properties